My 10 step korean skincare routine (free of: parabens, phenoxyethanol, silicones, sulfates, alcohol, mineral oil) 2017

If you have read my previous article, you will know that I did a massive disposal of my skincare when I found out that they contained harsh ingredients that are not so good for our skin like; parabens, sulfates, alcohol, mineral oil, phenoxyethanol and silicones.

My previous 2016 post here:

My 10 step korean skincare routine (free of: parabens, phenoxyethanol, silicones, sulfates, alcohol, mineral oil)

I am so glad that us consumers are becoming more and more savvy about the skincare products that we purchase these days and we are starting to look into product ingredients carefully before purchasing.

I have only been using clean products that are free of parabens, phenoxyethanol, mineral oils, alcohol, silicones (really hard to avoid in moisturisers), sulfates, and etc. I am happy to say that my skin is really stable now vs its previous erratic self. Although I might get the occasional pimple from having too much chocolate, it has never been better in my life!

Searching for products that are free of the list of ingredients above hasn’t been easy. Products that label themselves as ‘paraben free’ may sometimes still contain phenoxyethanol. And it is super hard to find moisturisers that do not contain silicones.

After much searching, here is my 2nd compiled multi step Korean skincare routine!

1. Makeup Remover

file

Blossom Jeju Cleansing Oil

I bought it on qoo10

2. Cleanser

tea_tree_foaming_cleanser_renewal_1024x1024_299f2cbd-0c11-45f1-a970-3d4ee0d2ee6a_2048x2048

Aromatica Tea Tree balancing foaming cleanser

 

3. peeling gel 

 


CNP labatory Invisible Peeling Cleansing Gel

This contains the next generation of peeling ingredient; PHA, which melts dead skin cells gently without any stimulation like scrubbing.

I bought it on qoo10

4. Rinse off masks: yoghurt / honey / clay / modelling masks

I use plain natural yoghurt or honey as rinse off masks.

Honey has anti-inflammatory qualities that help prevent the swelling and redness that can come from acne. For those with dry skin, honey is a natural humectant, which preserves moisture in your skin and can prevent some peeling and dryness that other acne treatments can cause.

Honey’s mild exfoliating ability reveals fresh, smooth skin by safely removing dead skin cells that can clog pores and make your skin look dull. Honey has a natural antimicrobial quality that helps heal acne scars, prevent blemishes, and can even help soften wrinkles.

5. Toner

Gone are the days of using alcohol based toners ! They are very harsh and will dry out your skin especially if you have sensitive skin.

ALSO, did you know that drying your face with a towel actually removes too much moisture and dries out the skin very quickly. Toner has to be applied almost immediately after drying your face to prevent loss of moisture from your skin.

Another method i’ve tried recently is to pat dry my face after cleansing instead of towel drying.

Aromatica absolute rose first serum

This is essentially a toner and serum in one and is great of you’re on the go or lazy to apply both a toner and serum.

 

6. Sheet mask 

 

Papa Bombee Honey Sheet Masks

 

7. Serums / Essence / Ampoule

I generally try to stay clear of citrus ingredients like orange or lemon or vitamin C as it can be irritating for sensitive skin.


Pure Heals volcanic pore eraser ampoule

7227955a212717663469a983ffea2dba

Manyo factory galactomyces special treatment essence

Great for those that want a brightening essence but can’t use vitamin C due to sensitive skin issues.
Cosrx centella blemish ampule

 

8. Moisturiser / cream

This was the hardest part – Finding a moisturiser with no silicones cause pretty much every single moisturiser had some sort of silicone in it. But I managed to find a couple that are silicone free, and these brands have instantly become my favourites.

Blossom jeju camellia soombi moisturiser

This is probably my favourite moisturiser because it’s water based – which means that it’s really lightweight and absorbs well without leaving any sticky feeling. This is my go to moisturiser in the day time.

I bought it from qoo10

image

Whamisa Organic Flowers water cream new 2017 version !

It is now in a tube instead of the previous pot casing, which is wayyy more convenient to access.

I bought it on qoo10

9. Eye cream

Like the moisturiser, it was hard to find an eye cream without silicones.

 

blossom-jeju-eye-repair-1024-ians_1024x1024.jpg

Blossom Jeju Camellia Soombi Eye repair cream

I bought it from qoo10

10. Oils:

They’re really great for super dry skin, so I always apply this as a final step on my cheeks or by mixing them into a moisturiser. My favourite oils are argan, primrose, and almond.

Bought my oils on iherb

11. BONUS: Sunscreen

Aromatica calendula non nano UV protection

This sunscreen also won the EWGs best 2016 sunscreen award.

dsc_0573-e1499792140133.jpg

It does leave a white cast but I somehow love it cause it doubles up as a whitening makeup base. My friends even asked if I bleached my skin, but no, it’s just this sunscreen!

Where to buy:

Most of them can be found on qoo10, if you can’t find them on qoo10, you can purchase them from websites like Testerkorea or Koreadepart with a shipping fee.

Notes:

I always always check ingredients of products on CosDNA, but quite often, ingredient lists are not readily available on the internet and so shopping for clean skincare really becomes quite a hassle. I do hope that my list has saved you some time and years off your skin!

 

3 thoughts on “My 10 step korean skincare routine (free of: parabens, phenoxyethanol, silicones, sulfates, alcohol, mineral oil) 2017

Leave a Reply

